Jat Samaj Mumbai
List Of Jat Samaj : All India Jat Mahasabha - New Delhi
All India Jat Mahasabha - New Delhi

Jat Mahasabha or All India Jat Mahasabha is the premier organisation of Jats in India. It raises social and economic problems faced by Jats . Many of its office bearers are politically active and are influential. The Jat Mahasabha spearheaded the community's struggle for reservation in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections in 1999.

Chaudhary Dara Singh is current president of the organisation. The Jat Mahasabha is a non political organization in nature. It is a social organisation. It is organised by a community for its uplift, for social reconstruction. The Jat Mahasabha has been functioning from 1993 for social causes. But it is not a registered body, not even as an NGO or social organisation.


The All India Jat Mahasabha was founded in Muzaffarnagar in western Uttar Pradesh, India in 1907, as an offshoot of theArya Samaj. The Mahasabha, a supra-provincial organization, was perceived in southeast Punjab as a symbol of unity in Jat society and as the main catalyst of reform and change. Sir Chhotu Ram explained:
"slowly the Jat Kshatriya Sabha in Jamna-par (western UP) came into existence which had its impact in Haryana. This was followed by the formation of panchayats. It breathed a new spirit into the Jat community. In this period, only the Arya Samaj propagated its rules in Haryana and the Jats were greatly influenced by it. This movement was consolidated through its leaders. It led to an awakening among the Jats. The Jat school was opened, the Jat (Maha) Sabha was created and the Jat Gazette was started in. Earlier the Jats were all fragmented, but now they were brought together. They began to perceive all their institutions as exclusively Jat. The Jats became conscious of their sense of unity."

The Jat Mahasabha was initially founded as All India Jat Kshatriya Mahasabha. The founder members were:

  • Chaudhary Mamraj Singh Shamli ([Muzaffarnagar]]),
  • Kunwar Kalyan Singh Varkatpur (Bulandshahr),
  • Thakur Tej Singh Vahpur (Bulandshahr),
  • Chaudhary Hari Singh Kurmali (Muzaffarnagar),
  • Shri Ram Lal Hala Raghunathpur (Badayun),
  • Shri Nathu Singh Pardeshi,
  • Kunwar Hukum Singh Angai (Mathura),
  • Shri Lal Singh and Shri Vahal Singh (Saidpur),
  • Chaudhary Gulab Singh Yadnagar,
  • Chaudhary Nanu Singh Delhi,
  • Shri Shadi Ram editor 'Kshatriya' and
  • Sir Chhotu Ram (Rohtak).

Kunwar Hukum Singh Angai (Mathura) took pains to bring all the elite people of the society such as Jagirdars, Thikanedars,Raos, Rais, Rai Bahadurs at one platform. Later large number of common people from society joined it. Branches were started at Agra, Aligarh, Bijnor, Muradabad, Meerut, Muzaffarnagar, Mathura etc. in Uttar Pradesh and Sikar, Ajmer,Jhunjhunu, Jodhpur etc. places in Rajasthan. Kunwar Hukum Singh Angai (Mathura) expanded its scope from Brij area to All India in character. The first Executive Committee of All India Jat Mahasabha was constituted on 14 March 1907 inMeerut on the occassion of Nauchandi fair.

Jat Mahasabha adhiveshans 1908-1924
The All India Jat Mahasabha held its annual adhiveshan at Delhi in 1908, Meerut in 1909, Garhmukteshwar in 1910, Delhi in 1911, Gwalior in 1912, Rohtak in 1913, Bharatpur in 1914, Pushkar in 1915, Meerut in 1916, Dhaulpur in 1917, Gwalior in 1918. Rana Udaybhanu Singh, the ruler of Dholpur, was the Chairman of the 1918 adhiveshan. Earlier Sir Chhotu Ram had started a news paper named Jat Gazette in 1916 which became very popular among the farmers of northern India. Sir Chhotu Ram was awarded the title of 'Rao Bahadur' and he founded 'Zamindar Association' to protect the interests of farmers.

From 1918 to 1924, the annual adhiveshans were held at various places. Various decisions were taken regarding the social upliftment, avoiding extravaganza, opening new schools and hostels to spread education amongst masses. Sir Chhotu Ramwas appointed Agricultural Minister in Punjab Government in 1924. He had also started the freedom movement against British Rule in India.

Pushkar adhiveshan in November 1925
The Pushkar adhiveshan in November 1925 organized by All India Jat Mahasabha was presided over by Maharaja Kishan Singh of Bharatpur. Sir Chhotu Ram, Madan Mohan Malviya, Chhajju Ram etc. farmer leaders had also attended. This function was organized with the initiative of Master Bhajan Lal Bijarnia of Ajmer - Merwara. The farmers from all parts of Shekhawati had come namely, Chaudhary Govind Ram, Kunwar Panne Singh Deorod, Ram Singh Bakhtawarpura,Chetram Bhadarwasi, Bhuda Ram Sangasi, and Moti Ram Kotri. 24-year young boy Har Lal Singh also attended it. The Shekhawati farmers took two oaths in Pushkar namely,

  • They would work for the development of the society through elimination of social evils and spreading of education.
  • 'Do or Die' in the matters of exploitation of farmers by the Jagirdars.
  • Resolution was passed to remove the British rule from India.

The importance of this Institution as a pressure group can be realized from the fact that Britishers were highly concerned for the maintenance and protection of traditions of Jats. Between 1930 and 1932, when the civil disobedience movement spread over the country, it is incredible but true that Governor Malcom Haily had to address the Jat Mahasabha in 1930.

The 1930 adhiveshan was the 20th and a historical one and was held at Tishazari ground in Delhi. It was presided over by Rai Bahadur Chaudhary Lalchand Advocate. This was attended by Rana Udaybhan Singh, the ruler of Dholpur and Chaudhary Sahabuddin, the president of Punjab Assembly. Sir Chotu Ram was the coordinator. This was attended by all communities Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs which was the cause of worry for the British Rule. This was also attended by Kunwar Net Ram Singh, Ladu Ram Jakhar, Kunwar Panne Singh, Chaudhary Ram Singh and Swami Baldas from Jaipur.

The Mahasabha became a forum for demanding employment and airing Jat grievances on their poor representation in government service. Leaders like Sir Chhotu Ram were closely associated with the Jat Mahasabha and it remained the leading vehicle for advancing the Jat interests, even after the formation of the Unionist Party, which was concerned with agriculturists' interests in Punjab.

Jat Mahasabha convention 2007
Dara Singh, President Jat Mahasabha
The All-India Jat Mahasabha held a convention at Talkatora Stadium in Delhi on 9 March 2007 under the chairmanship of its president, Chaudhary Dara Singh. One of the main issues taken up at the convention, which was attended by several Central and State Ministers and MPs, was reservation for the Jats in State and Central Government jobs. The convention also discussed social evils like female foeticide, dowry and drug abuse. The year 2007 is being celebrated as the Jat Mahasabha Centenary Year.

Contact details
Hawa Singh Sangwan (Ex-Comdt), Spokesman - All India Jat Mahasabha, Mobile No-09416056145

Home |About Jat People | Contact Us
All Rights Reserved by   "Jat Samaj Mumbai"  Site Developed and Maintained by   khiladi4business.com